United States Map: Map Of America

The United States of America map is a map of what’s commonly referred to as the U.S. or the USA. It is comprised of 50 states that are each run by their own government, and each of those states has their own unique culture and history behind it, but the federal government can be found in Washington, DC (which is not a state).

These states were added to the US as time went on, and the most recent state to be added to the union was Hawaii in 1959. To learn more about the US, the individual states that comprise America, and to see a map of America, check out this guide.

The United States was born in revolution and nurtured by struggle. Throughout our history, the American people have befriended and supported all those who seek independence and a better way of life. – Robert Kennedy

The United States of America Map

The things that will destroy America are prosperity-at-any-price, peace-at-any-price, safety-first instead of duty-first, the love of soft living, and the get-rich-quick theory of life. – Theodore Roosevelt

As you can see from the map above, America is a massive country. It makes up a decently large chunk of North America (Mexico and Canada are the other two countries that are included in North America) and even has two states that don’t actually “touch” the Contiguous states (that 48 states that actually touch one another).

As many of you know, colonization and exploration of North America began in the late 1500’s, and the first English settlement was established in 1607. Over a hundred years the colonists began feeling mistreated and a revolution began in 1775. In 1776 the United States of America declared their independence from Britain. Over time it became obvious that the new country needed a little more structure and the colonies ratified the Constitution (after a long and intense debate). As each colony ratified the Constitution they became states (as you will see in the chart below). Now the United States is a world power with 50 states.

Now, we want to provide everyone with some statistics and facts about the United States:

  • The total area of the United States: 3.8 million square miles
  • The structure of the government: Constitution-based Federal Republic
  • The currency: US Dollar
  • The approximate population of the United States: 320 million
  • The US motto: “In God We Trust”
  • The national animal: the bald eagle
  • It is believed that the continent of North America has been inhabited for at least 15,000 years
  • General George Washington was the first president of the United States after leading the country through the Revolutionary War
  • The US had a 4-year Civil War (1861-1865) that focused on may issues: economy, slavery, states’ rights, and federal government overreach
  • The United States has no official language, but the two most prominent languages are Spanish and English
  • If Texas were its own country it would have the 10th largest GDP in the entire world

The States That Make Up The Union

The liberties of our country, the freedom of our civil constitution, are worth defending against all hazards: And it is our duty to defend them against all attacks. – Samuel Adams

As most of you may know, there are 50 states in the United States of America (collectively known as the “union”). The capital of the U.S., Washington D.C., is a federal district and is not a state. That means that DC does have a mayor and city council, but Congress has authority over laws, budget, taxes, and just about everything else pertaining to the city. DC also has a representative in the House of Representatives, however, they are not allowed to vote.

Below we have included a chart of some information about all the states that are in the United States of America. In the chart, we have included the state capital, the date the state entered the union (or the date that they ratified the Constitution), the population of the state (as of 2010), and the total area that state has.

The 50 States of the USA
StateCapitalDate Entered UnionPopulationTotal Area 
AlabamaMontgomeryDecember 14, 18194.8 million52,000 square miles
AlaskaJuneau January 3,  1959740 thousand665,000 square miles
ArizonaPhoenix February 14, 19127 million113,000 square miles
ArkansasLittle Rock June 15, 18363 million53,000 square miles
CaliforniaSacramento September 9, 185039 million163,000 square miles
ColoradoDenver August 1, 18765.6 million104,000 square miles
ConnecticutHartford January 9, 1788 (ratified)3.5 million5,000 square miles
DelawareDoverDecember 7, 1787 (ratified)961 thousand2,000 square miles
FloridaTallahassee March 3, 184520.9 million65,000 sqaure miles
GeorgiaAtlantaJanuary 2, 1788 (ratified)10.4 million59,000 square miles
HawaiiHonolulu August 21, 19591.4 million10,000 square miles
IdahoBoise July 3, 18901.7 million83,000 miles
IllinoisSpringfield December 3, 181812.8 million57,000 square miles
IndianaIndianapolis December 11, 18166.6 million36,000 square miles
IowaDes MoinesDecember 28, 18463.1 million56,000 square miles
KansasTopekaJanuary 29, 18612.9 million82,000 square miles
KentuckyFrankfort June 1, 17924.4 million40,000 sqaure miles
LouisianaBaton Rouge April 30, 18124.6 million52,000 square miles
MaineAugusta March 15, 18201.3 million35,000 square miles
MarylandAnnapolis April 28, 1788 (ratified)6 million12,000 square miles
MassachusettsBostonFebruary 6, 1788 (ratified)6.8 million10,000 square miles
MichiganLansing January 26, 18379.9 million96,000 square miles
MinnesotaSt. Paul May 11, 18355.5 million86,000 square miles
MississippiJackson December 10, 18172.9 million48,000 square miles
MissouriJefferson City August 10, 18216.1 million69,000 square miles
MontanaHelena November 8, 18891 million147,000 square miles
NebraskaLincoln March 1, 18671.9 million77,000 square miles
NevadaCarson City October 31, 18642.9 million110,000 square miles
New HampshireConcord June 21, 1788 (ratified)1.3 million9,000 square miles
New JerseyTrentonDecember 18, 1787 (ratified)9 million8,000 square miles
New MexicoSanta Fe January 6, 19122 million121,000 square miles
New YorkAlbanyJuly 26, 1788 (ratified)19.8 million54,000 square miles
North CarolinaRaleighNovember 21, 1789 (ratified)10.2 million53,000 square miles
North DakotaBismarck November 2, 1889755 thousand70,000 square miles
OhioColumbus March 1, 180311.6 million44,000 square miles
OklahomaOklahoma City November 16, 19073.9 million69,000 square miles
OregonSalem February 14, 18594.1 million98,000 square miles
PennsylvaniaHarrisburgDecember 12, 1787 (ratified)12.8 million46,000 square miles
Rhode IslandProvidenceMay 29, 1790 (ratified)1 million1,000 square miles
South CarolinaColumbiaMay 23, 1788 (ratified)5 million32,000 square miles
South DakotaPierre November 2, 1889869 thousand77,000 square miles
TennesseeNashville June 1, 17966.7 million42,000 square miles
TexasAustin December 29, 184528.3 million268,000 square miles
UtahSalt Lake City January 4, 18963.1 million84,000 square miles
VermontMontpelier March 4, 1791623 thousand9,000 square miles
VirginiaRichmondJune 25, 1788 (ratified)8.4 million42,000 square miles
WashingtonOlympia November 11, 18897.4 million71,000 square miles
West VirginiaCharleston June 20, 18631.8 million24,000 square miles
WisconsinMadison May 29, 18485.7 million65,000 square miles
WyomingCheyenne July 10, 1890579 thousand97,000 square miles