World Map: Explore The World Around You

Take a look at the world map and you’ll immediately realize just how diverse, expansive, and varied our world really is. Maps are great resources to find out information about the world we live in. Knowing how to look at a map will give us plenty of information about the world around us.

If you would like to explore the world looking at a world map, you have come to the right place. In this article, we will look at a world map together and explore everything it has to offer.

Continents and Oceans

The large landmasses on the planet are known as continents. Although they are different conventions when it comes to identifying them, they are generally thought of as seven:

  • Asia.
  • Africa.
  • North America.
  • South America.
  • Antarctica.
  • Europe.
  • Australia.

But, if you look at a world map, we will notice that some of those large landmasses are actually joined together: for example, Europe, Asia, and Africa; or, North American and South America; or, in extremely close proximity, for example, Asia and North America. That is why we have geographical contexts such as Eurasia, which is useful when talking about countries with landmasses in more than one continent, most notably Russia and Turkey, whose respective territories occupy land in both Asia and Europe.

If Europe does not advance, it will fall or even be wiped out from the world map… My duty is to bring Europe out of its lethargy. – François Hollande.

Furthermore, there are other large geographical regions that can be observed in a world map. For example, the Middle East, which is mostly in Western Asia (Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Palestine, United Arab Emirates, etc.) but also in parts of Europe (Turkey), and North Africa (Egypt).

There is also the Caribbean: Cuba, Dominican Republic, Haiti, Jamaica, etc. which on the continent overlaps with Central America (Panama, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, etc.) and even South America (Colombia). Most of the Caribbean and, indeed, Central America are part of North America.

When it comes to oceans, the current consensus is that there are five:

  • Arctic.
  • Atlantic.
  • Indian.
  • Pacific.
  • Southern.


Another great thing to do with a map is to learn each and every country in the world, with their location and the name of their capital cities.

In Asia, there are 48 countries:

Afghanistan (Capital Kabul).

Armenia (capital city Yerevan).

Azerbaijan (capital city Baku).

Bahrain (capital city Manama).

Bangladesh (capital city Dhaka).

Bhutan (capital Thimphu).

Brunei (capital city Bandar Seri Begawan).

Cambodia (capital city Phom Penh).

China (capital city Beijing).

Cyprus (capital city Nicosia).

East Timor (capital city Dili).

Egypt (capital city Cairo).

Georgia (capital city Tbilisi).

India (capital city New Delhi).

Indonesia (capital city Jakarta).

Iran (capital city Tehran).

Iraq (capital city Baghdad).

Israel (capital city Jerusalem – disputed).

Japan (capital city Tokio).

Jordan (capital city Amman).

Kazakhstan (capital city Astana).

Kuwait (capital city Kuwait city).

Kyrgyzstan (capital city Bishkek).

Laos (capital city Vientiane).

Lebanon (capital city Beirut).

Malaysia (capital city Kuala Lumpur).

Maldives (capital city Malé).

Mongolia (capital city Ulaanbaatar).

Myanmar (capital city Naypyidaw).

Nepal (Kathmandu).

North Korea (Pyongyang).

Oman (Muscat).

Pakistan (Islamabad).

Palestine (Ramallah).

Philippines (Manila).

Qatar (Doha).

Russia (Moscow).

Saudi Arabia (Riyadh).

Singapore (Singapore).

South Korea (Seoul).

Sri Lanka (Colombo).

Syria (Damascus).

Taiwan (Taipei).

Tajikistan (Dushanbe).

Thailand (Bangkok).

Turkey (Ankara).

Turkmenistan (Ashgabat).

United Arab Emirates (Abu Dhabi).

Uzbekistan (Tashkent).

Vietnam (Hanoi).

Yemen (Sana’a).

There are 54 sovereign states in Africa:

Algeria (Algiers).

Angola (Luanda).

Benin (Porto-Novo).

Botswana (Gaborone).

Burkina Faso (Ouagadougou).

Burundi (Bujumbura).

Cameroon (Yaoundé).

Cape Verde (Praia).

Central African Republic (Bangui).

Chad (N’Djamena).

Comoros (Morni).

The Democratic Republic of the Congo (Kinshasa).

Republic of the Congo (Brazzaville).

Djibouti (Djibouti City).

Egypt (Cairo).

Equatorial Guinea (Malabo).

Eritrea (Asmara).

Ethiopia (Addis Ababa).

Gabon (Libreville).

Gambia (Banjul).

Ghana (Accra).

Guinea (Conakry).

Guinea-Bissau (Bissau).

Ivory Coast (Yamoussoukro).

Kenya (Nairobi).

Lesotho (Maseru).

Liberia (Monrovia).

Libya (Tripoli).

Madagascar (Antananarivo).

Malawi (Lilongwe).

Mali (Bamako).

Mauritania (Nouakchott).

Mauritius (Port Louis).

Morocco (Rabat).

Mozambique (Maputo).

Namibia (Windhoek).

Niger (Niamey).

Nigeria (Abuja).

Rwanda (Kigali).

São Tomé and Príncipe (São Tomé).

Senegal (Dakar).

Seychelles (Victoria).

Sierra Leone (Freetown).

Somalia (Mogadishu).

South Africa (Pretoria).

South Sudan (Juba).

Sudan (Khartoum).

Swaziland (Lobamba).

Tanzania (Dodoma).

Togo (Lomé).

Tunisia (Tunis).

Uganda (Kampala).

Zambia (Lusaka).

Zimbabwe (Harare).

North America has 23 sovereign states:

Antigua and Barbuda (St. John’s).

The Bahamas (Nassau).

Barbados (Bridgetown).

Belize (Belmopan).

Canada (Ottawa).

Costa Rica (San José).

Cuba (Havana).

Dominica (Roseau).

Dominica Republic (Santo Domingo).

El Salvador (San Salvador).

Grenada (St. George’s).

Guatemala (Guatemala City).

Haiti (Port-au-Prince).

Honduras (Tegucigalpa).

Jamaica (Kingston).

Mexico (Mexico City).

Nicaragua (Managua).

Panama (Panama City).

Saint Kitts and Nevis (Basseterre).

Saint Lucia (Castries).

Saint Vincent and the Grenadines (Kingstown).

Trinidad and Tobago (Port of Spain).

United States (Washington, D.C.).

South America has 12 sovereign states:

Argentina (Buenos Aires).

Bolivia (Sucre and La Paz).

Brazil (Brasília).

Chile (Santiago).

Colombia (Bogotá).

Ecuador (Quito).

Guyana (Georgetown).

Paraguay (Asunción).

Peru (Lima).

Suriname (Paramaribo).

Uruguay (Montevideo).

Venezuela (Caracas).

Europe has 50 sovereign states:

Albania (Tirana).

Andorra (Andorra la Vella).

Armenia (Yerevan).

Austria (Vienna).

Azerbaijan (Baku).

Belarus (Minsk).

Belgium (Brussels).

Bosnia and Herzegovina (Sarajevo).

Bulgaria (Sofia).

Croatia (Zagreb).

Cyprus (Nicosia).

Czech Republic (Prague).

Denmark (Copenhagen).

Estonia (Tallinn).

Finland (Helsinki).

France (Paris).

Georgia (Tbilisi).

Germany (Berlin).

Greece (Athens).

Hungary (Budapest).

Iceland (Reykjavik).

Ireland (Dublin).

Italy (Rome).

Kazakhstan (Astana).

Latvia (Riga).

Liechtenstein (Vaduz).

Lithuania (Vilnius).

Luxembourg (Luxembourg).

Macedonia (Skopje).

Malta (Valletta).

Moldova (Chisinau).

Monaco (Monaco).

Montenegro (Podgorica).

Netherlands (Amsterdam).

Norway (Oslo).

Poland (Warsaw).

Portugal (Lisbon).

Romania (Bucharest).

Russia (Moscow).

San Marino (San Marino).

Serbia (Belgrade).

Slovakia (Bratislava).

Slovenia (Ljubljana).

Spain (Madrid).

Sweden (Stockholm).

Switzerland (Bern).

Turkey (Ankara).

Ukraine (Kiev).

United Kingdom (London).

Vatican City (Vatican City).

Australia has three sovereign states:

Australia (Canberra).

Papua New Guinea (Port Moresby).

(Parts of) Indonesia (Jakarta).

An interesting case is New Zealand, which does not belong to the Australian continent despite their proximity. The country is thus excluded from the seven-continent model that is currently used. New Zealand can, however, be considered a part of Australasia.

Antarctica does not contain any sovereign states as its territories are split between sovereign states from other continents such as the United Kingdom, New Zealand, France, Norway, Australia, Chile, and Argentina.